Sunday, June 9, 2024

APC National Convention To Hold May 14

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has announced that its convention to elect officers for a new term in the party’s leadership would hold May 14.

Going by the schedule of activities released by Osita Izunaso, organizing secretary of APC, the party said ward congresses will hold on May 2, while appeal that may arise from the conduct will be entertained on May 3.

The schedule showed that local government area congresses would hold on May 5, with appeal arising from the exercise fixed for May 7.

It indicated that May 9 is the date for congress at states’ level to elect executive committees of the party in all states in the country.

It fixed May 10 for hearing of appeal that may arise from the conduct of the state congresses.

On Sunday, the party announced that it had constituted a 68-member committee to oversee its convention.

The committee chaired by Badaru Abubakar, governor of Jigawa state, has Rotimi Akeredolu, governor of Ondo state, as deputy chairman, and Ben Uwajumogwu as secretary.

Also included in the committee were ten other governors namely Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Kashim Shettima (Borno), Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina), Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), and Ibrahim Gaidam (Yobe).

Others are Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna), Simon Lalong (Plateau), Bindo Jibrilla (Adamawa), Yahaya Bello (Kogi) and Godwin Ibaseki (Edo).

A move to extend the tenure of the current national working committee of the party levy by John Oyegun had met brick walls, with President Muhammadu Buhari kicking against it.

The president had said he wanted to avoid a legal battle that could jeopardise the party’s cohesion before the 2019 general election.



Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles