David Lyon on Wednesday, September 4, emerged winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Bayelsa state.

The Bayelsa politician polled 42,138 votes to defeat his closet rival, Diseye Nsirim who scored 1,533 votes in the direct primary election which was adopted by the party.

Amgbare came third with 633 votes while Former Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development, Senator Heineken Lokpobiri came fourth with 571 votes. Preye Aganaba and Maureen Etebu polled 354 votes and 564 votes respectively.