Tuesday, July 23, 2024

FLASH: Five Lawmakers Resign

5 lawmakers of a key regional party on Friday resigned from the Indian Parliament over Prime Minister Narendra Modi government’s “failure” to authorize special status to the southern state of Andhra Pradesh.

Vara Rao, Subba Reddy, Midhum Reddy, Avinash Reddy and Mekapati Reddy of Andhra Pradesh’s opposition YSR Congress party submitted their resignation letters to Parliament Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on the last day of the Budget session.

Andhra Pradesh’s ruling Telegu Desam Party, led by Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, has already pulled out of
India’s ruling coalition and unsuccessfully tried many times to bring in a no-confidence motion against Prime
Minister Modi’s government in Parliament over the issue.

Both Telegu Desam Party and YSR Congress party, a breakaway faction of India’s main opposition Congress party,
have vented out their anger against the Modi government over its “refusal” to grant special status to the
state as promised after Telangana was carved out of it in 2014.

Andhra Pradesh is to go to polls in 2019 and all parties are now upping the ante against the “deprivation” by the
Indian government.


Breaking News

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles