Wednesday, February 28, 2024
spot_img

How To Watch The 2023 AFCON Semi-finals On TV And Live Stream

In what has been a sensational tournament of international football already, the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations semi-finals are upon us.

The tournament has been one for the underdogs, with Morocco, Egypt, Ghana and Algeria all suffering surprise early exits, while the likes of Namibia and Mauritania managed to reach the knockout stages against the odds.

With the final four each just two matches from the trophy, pressure is building for the sides still vying for continental glory.

Here is how you can watch both of the 2023 AFCON semi-finals on TV and live stream.

Nigeria vs South Africa

Nigeria are aiming for a first title since 2013 / Visionhaus/GettyImages
  • Location: Bouake, Ivory Coast
  • Stadium: Stade de la Paix
  • Date: Wednesday 7 February
  • Kick-off Time: 17:00 GMT / 12:00 ET / 09:00 PT

African giants Nigeria have the chance to reach their first AFCON final since 2013, when they beat Burkina Faso 1-0 in the showpiece event. Ironically, that tournament took place in South Africa, the nation they will face in this year’s semi-final.

Nigeria remain unbeaten in the Ivory Coast, following up a 1-1 draw with Equatorial Guinea in their opening group game with four successive victories. In those triumphs, the Super Eagles haven’t conceded a single goal, winning three of their fixtures 1-0.

South Africa have also boasted a stern defence since their opening game defeat to Mali, conceding just once in three victories and a draw since. The surprise candidates for AFCON glory have already beaten 2022 World Cup semi-finalists Morocco in the knockout stages.

Country

TV channel/live stream

United Kingdom

BBC One, BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport Web, Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Premier League, Sky Sports Ultra HD, Sky GO, Sky GO Extra

United States

beIN Sports

Canada

Not available

Ivory Coast vs DR Congo

The hosts Ivory Coast are seeking silverware / MB Media/GettyImages
  • Location: Abidjan, Ivory Coast
  • Stadium: Alassane Ouattara Stadium
  • Date: Wednesday 7 February
  • Kick-off Time: 20:00 GMT / 15:00 ET / 12:00 PT

Ivory Coast are aiming to add a third AFCON title to their name when they face DR Congo in the semi-final as they look to become the first hosts to win the tournament since 2006.

They have certainly ridden their luck en route to the last four, sacking coach Jean-Louis Gasset during the group stage before finishing third despite losing two of their three matches. They also needed penalties to get past reigning champions Senegal, followed by an extra-time victory over Mali in which they saw two players sent off and scored their winner in the 122nd minute.

You could argue, therefore, that their name may already be on the trophy, but DR Congo stand in their way. The two-time winners have drawn four of their five matches at the tournament, including all their group games, but goals from Premier League players of past and present РChancel Mbemba, Yoane Wissa and Arthur Masuaku Рsaw them ease to a 3-1 win over Guinea in the quarter-final.

Country

TV channel/live stream

United Kingdom

BBC Three, BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport Web, Sky Sports Premier League, Sky GO, Sky GO Extra

United States

beIN Sports

Canada

Not available

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles