Thursday, October 6, 2022

Molefi Ntseki In As South Africa Coach As Stuart Baxter Resigns

Molefi Ntseki has been appointed as interim coach of South Africa as day after Stuart Baxter resigned from the post.

Baxter stepped down on Friday saying it is the right time to move on with a new cycle of Africa Cup of Nations and World Cup qualifiers ahead.

On Saturday the South Africa Football Association (Safa) named under-17 coach Ntseki “in the interest of continuity”.

Safa said it wants to have a permanent replacement by the end of the month but admitted this might not be possible

The 50-year-old Ntseki has been involved with Bafana Bafana’s for several years and was part of Baxter’s technical team at the recent Nations Cup in Egypt.

“Given the upcoming fixtures in September, Ntseki is best placed to follow through with the foundation that has been laid by coach Baxter,” a Safa statement said.

He has been involved with all the national teams over the past few years, from the under-20 men as well as Banyana Banyana and under-17 women.

Baxter’s second spell in charge of Bafana Bafana comes to an end just weeks after South Africa reached the quarter-finals of the recent Nations Cup.

The campaign in Egypt included a win over the hosts in the last 16.

“I feel it’s time for someone else to take over and I have decided to resign from my position. It is my personal decision,” he explained.

“Going to Afcon, this squad had not lost in a year, something that was not easy considering we were introducing new players.

“I’ve chosen not to point fingers and I will refrain from that. Choosing not to answer some misleading media coverage is something that’s also hard to do.”

Bafana Bafana scraped into the last 16 despite losing two of their three group matches.

South Africa upset Egypt 1-0 only to lose after a goalkeeping blunder in the last minute to Nigeria in the quarter-final.

Baxter won 14 of 30 matches in his second stint, drawing six and losing 10.

Baxter is now the ninth coach to leave his job following the Africa Cup of Nations finals last month.

He follows Clarence Seedorf (Cameroon), Javier Aguirre (Egypt), Paul Put (Guinea), Herve Renard (Morocco), Ricardo Mannetti (Namibia), Emanuel Amunike (Tanzania), Sebastien Desabre (Uganda) and Sunday Chidzambwa of Zimbabwe in either quitting, coming to the end of their contracts or being fired.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: