Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Omo-Agege Finally Opens Up On Role He Played In Ndume’s Suspension

Embattled Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, the rogue senator representing Delta Central in the National Assembly, has, for the first time, opened up on the role he played in the suspension of colleague Ali Ndume.

According to the senator, he never supported the suspension of his Ali Ndume.

Senator Omo-Agege mentioned that he did not sign the report endorsing Ndume’s suspension despite being a member of the Red Chamber’s Ethics and Privileges Committee

He said the lawmakers that supported the suspension were of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with the exception of one All Progressives Congress (APC) senator.

Ndume is of the APC.

Ndume, who is from Borno South, was repotrtedly suspended in March 2017 for allegedly embarrassing Senate President Bukola Saraki and Dino Melaye, senator representing Kogi West.

Via his Twitter handle, Omo-Agege said:

“A lot has been said on social media about me being part of a committee that recommended 6 months suspension for senator Ali Ndume, I have this to say; being part of a committee does not necessarily mean one must approve every report of the committee.

“For the purpose of setting the records straight, senator Ovie Omo-Agege refused to sign the report that facilitated the suspension of senator Ali Ndume.

“Available facts show that of the 13-member committee, only seven signed the report, with six of them being members of the PDP.

“The only senator elected on the platform of the APC who signed the report was Tayo Alasoadura. Not even the Vice Chairman of the Committee, Senator Bala Na’Allah, signed the report. Ndume was elected on the platform of the APC.

“Senators elected on the platform of the PDP who signed the report were Samuel Anyanwu (Chairman), Obinna Ogba (Ebonyi), Jeremiah Useni (Plateau), Peter Nwaoboshi (Delta), Matthew Urhoghide (Edo), Mao Ohuabunwa (Abia).

“Apart from Senator Bala Na’allah, APC senators who did not sign the report were Omogunwa Yele, Muhammed Shittu, Ovie Omo-Agege and Binta Garba.”

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: