two men in a handshake, one in white the other black

President Buhari has sworn into office Ibrahim Tanko Mohammed as the 18th substantive Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN).

The brief swearing-in ceremony took place in the Presidential villa this morning July 24th.

The ceremony was witnessed by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila, Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege, Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, Borno State Governor Babagana Zulum and the Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed.

Mohammed, who took over from the immediate past and suspended CJN, Walter Onnoghen, was screened and cleared by the Senate on Wednesday July 17th.